jump to navigation

Riddle the Sphinx June 11, 2010

Posted by ninapaules in Living Life.
trackback

Today will be a bit nutty between physical therapy and other appointments.  So, here are two of my not-so-famous riddles along with a tidbit about the most famous riddle in history.  Enjoy!  I’ll be back later with the answers.

The Sphinx is said to have guarded the entrance to the Greek city of Thebes, and to have asked a riddle of travelers to allow them passage. Early tellers of the stories did not specify the exact riddle asked by the Sphinx, but it was said in later lore that she asked all passersby the most famous riddle in history. (# 3, below) Those who could not answer or answered wrongly, she strangled and then devoured. 

I promise to do neither.

Riddle #1:  I am as a thief in the night, deception my quarry.  All seek me, few love me, but I remain the same.  What am I?

Riddle #2:  It can’t be touched, tasted or smelled, but will mean nothing if you don’t cultivate it. It must be owned before it can be spent, but will mean nothing if you don’t give it way. What am I?

Riddle #3:  Which creature in the morning goes on four legs, at mid-day on two, and in the evening upon three, and the more legs it has, the weaker it be.

Post your answers in comments. (link at top of this post)  If you have a favorite riddle, include it too.

I’ll be back later.

🙂

Nina

Comments»

1. Rachel Lauffer - June 11, 2010

Okay…. not sure about one and two….. but I think I figured number three out. Is it…. a man? : )

2. Answer the Sphinx « Raw & Dangerous: Just as I am - June 13, 2010

[…] Answer the Sphinx June 13, 2010 Posted by ninapaules in Living Life. trackback Good Sunday Morning!  For those of you who are wondering, here are the answers to Friday’s Riddle the Sphinx. […]


Leave a Reply

