jump to navigation

A Moment on the Lips July 6, 2010

Posted by ninapaules in Living Life.
trackback

A moment on the lips, forever on the hips.  You’ve probably heard this before.  It’s the skinny-person’s warning levied upon someone about to savor something utterly yummy. Yesterday, while standing in a Wal-Mart checkout line, this dampening phrase challenged my eternal perspective. 

As I unloaded jars of marshmallow fluff, peanut butter, and bags of sugar and chocolate pieces from my cart onto the rolling conveyer belt, the elderly gentleman standing in line behind me asked what I was making.  “Peanut-butter and chocolate fudges,” I told him, the deserts coveted at an annual party my family and I have attended every year for the last then years.  The gentleman made a deep throaty sound that told me he hadn’t allowed himself to enjoy such sugary confection in a very long time.  Then, he laughed. “I can already feel my teeth rotting,” he said.  “And I can see my waist expanding,” I added, matching his jovial tone.  That’s when the cashier chimed in.  “Oh, it won’t add that much,” she told me.  “You do have to live, after all.”

That’s when it hit me.  This body I worry about, and the daily pain I now live with, is not forever, even when it feels like it.  As surly as my skin is temporal, my soul is eternal.  Long before this century winds down, I will be living inside a different body, a perfect body as demonstrated by my Lord and Savior. 

Now please, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for proper nutrition along with enjoying yummy fudge in proper moderation. (see comments) But I’ve spent far too much time absorbed by the wrong things. 

Funny what a quick trip to Wal-Mart can teach you.

Nina, thinking that viewing this life by the light of eternity is a much better way to live and give.

What’s life been teaching you?  Do share!

Comments»

1. ninapaules - July 6, 2010

And speaking of giving… and living a little … here are my famous borrowed-from-other-people fudge recipes. Enjoy! (and share)

Peanut Butter Fudge

3 cups sugar
2/3 cup milk
½ cup butter (2 sticks)
½ t salt
12 oz Jiff peanut butter
7 oz marshmallow fluff
In a saucepan, over low heat, bring the first four ingredients to a boil. Boil for three minutes. Remove from heat. Immediately add peanut butter & marshmallow fluff. Mix well. Transfer to a 9×13 (glass is best) buttered pan. Cool. Refrigerate over night. Cut into squares. Store in airtight container in frig.

Chocolate Fudge

2 ½ cups sugar
¼ cup butter (1 stick)
5 oz evaporated milk
7 oz marshmallow fluff
¾ t salt
¾ t vanilla
12 oz semi-sweet chocolate pieces
In a saucepan, over low heat, bring the first five ingredients to a boil. Boil for five minutes. Remove from heat. Immediately stir in chocolate pieces & vanilla. Mix well. Transfer to a 9×9 (glass is best) buttered pan. Cool. Cut into squares. Store in airtight container.

Variation: Replace semi-sweet chocolate with Hershey’s MINT flavored chocolate chips (usually available around Christmas)

2. Nina's DH - July 6, 2010

By the way, if you get the idea to use some other peanut butter besides Jiff, don’t do it. I can’t explain it but ONLY Jiff works. Trust me, we tried.

ninapaules - July 6, 2010

So true, B! Thanks for posting. 🙂

3. Linda Banche - July 7, 2010

Nina, you’re a woman after my own heart.

As with your fudge, this job I hate will also also pass away. But sometimes it seems like it will last for an eternity. Enjoy your fudge.

ninapaules - July 7, 2010

Hey Linda! Thanks for posting. So with you on “lasting an eternity”. It’s hard to remember this is for but a moment. Fudge helps. 🙂


Leave a Reply

